skip navigation




LEFT: Courtney Petersen, Motor City FC (2018-19), RIGHT: Rose Lavelle, Dayton Dutch Lions (2016)

48 Former WPSL Players will be protected from Racing Louisville FC selections in NWSL Expansion Draft

Morgan Weaver, Seattle Sounders Women (2018-19)

OKLAHOMA CITY, Oklahoma – Today marks the Expansion Draft for NWSL newcomer, Racing Louisville Football Club.


Each of the nine NWSL teams were granted the protection of 11 Players/U.S. Allocated Players. Of these 11 selections, teams were also permitted to include two U.S. Allocated Players from the 2020 NWSL Season – Challenge Cup and Fall Series. Chicago Red Stars were granted full protection of their rosters after sending two players, Yuki Nagasato and Savannah McCaskill, to Louisville in an exchange on October 26.


Of the full protected list of a total of 115 players – in which Louisville will not be able to make selections from, 48 played in the WPSL. – who represent 26 former and current teams, including Chicago Red Star Reserves (9), Motor City FC (3), So Cal FC (3) and five teams from the WPSL Elite League in 2012.


Players on this protected listed include 24 players from the last three seasons as well as veteran alumae who’ve gone on to become U.S. Women’s National Team Champions – Alex Morgan (California Storm, 2010), Samantha Mewis (Boston Breakers Academy, 2014), Rose Lavelle (Dayton Dutch Lions, 2016), Sydney Leroux (Seattle Sounders Women, 2012) and Alyssa Naeher (SoccerPlus CT, 2008).


The list also includes alumnae who were drafted in the 2020 NWSL College DraftMorgan Weaver (Seattle Sounders Women, 2018-19), Taylor Kornieck (Motor City FC, 2018), Courtney Petersen (Motor City FC, 2018-19) Camryn Biegalski (Chicago Red Star Reserves, 2019) and Zoe Morse (Chicago Red Star Reserves, 2019).


You can watch the draft tonight at 7pm ET on Twitch.



Full Protected List of Alumnae Below:



Cassie Miller, Chicago Red Star Reserves (2017)
Kayla Sharples, Chicago Red Star Reserves (2017)
Zoey Goralski, Chicago Red Star Reserves (2018)

Zoe Morse, Chicago Red Star Reserves (2019)

Vanessa Dibernard, Chicago Red Star Reserves (2014)

Hannah Davison, Chicago Red Star Reserves (2018)

Camryn Biegalski, Chicago Red Star Reserves (2019)

Sarah Luebbert, Fire & Ice SC (2018)

Morgan Gautrat, Florida Sol FC (2011-2014)

Emily Boyd, Hotspurs Ladies (2017)

Aerial Chavarian, Sam Ramon FC

Rachel Hill, Sea Coast United Phantoms (2015-2016)

Alyssa Naeher, SoccerPlus CT (2008)



Haley Hanson, GSI Pride (2017)

Rachel Daly, So Cal FC (2015)



Samantha Mewis, Boston Breakers Academy (2014)

Merritt Mathias, New York Fury (2012)

Jessica McDonald, Phoenix del Sol (2012)

Hallie Mace, So Cal FC (2017)



Alex Morgan, California Storm (2010) / Seattle Sounders Women (2012)

Emily Sonnett, Florida Sol FC (2014) / Chicago Red Star Reserves (2015)

Taylor Kornieck, Motor City FC (2018)

Marisa Viggiano, Motor City FC (2018)
Courtney Petersen, Motor City FC (2018-2019)
Phoebe McClernon, Penn Fusion SA (2017)

Sydney Leroux, Seattle Sounders Women (2012)



Kelli Hubly, Chicago Red Star Reserves, (2016)

Emily Menges, Long Island Fury (2009)

Natalia Kuikka, Seattle Sounders Women (2016)

Morgan Weaver, Seattle Sounders Women (2018-2019)

Meghan Klingenberg, Western New York Flash (2012)



Lauren Barnes, Beach Futbol Club (2012)

Rose Lavelle, Dayton Dutch Lions (2016)

Leah Pruitt, LA Villa FC (2018)

Allie Long, New York Fury (2012)

Darian Jenkins, So Cal FC, (2015-2016)

Bethany Balcer, Seattle Sounders Women (2018)



Midge Purce, Boston Breakers Academy (2014)

Ifeoma Onumonu, Boston Breakers Academy (2017)

McCall Zerboni, Western New York Flash (2012)

Mallory Pugh, Washington Spirit Reserves



Gaby Vincent, FC Pride (2017)



Bayley Feist, Carolina Dynamo (2018)

Dorian Bailey, GSI Pride (2017)

Jordan DiBiasi, MVLA Wolves (2018)

Tegan McGrady, MVLA Wolves (2018)

Sam Staab, San Diego SeaLions (2018)

Tori Huster, Western New York (2012)

Quick Links

Follow WPSL

Recent News